Workforce, training and education
Yorkshire and Humber

EY Training Programme

East Yorkshire (EY) is one of three Locality Schemes or Groups in the Yorkshire and the Humber Foundation School. We oversee and support training for over 350 foundation doctors in four Acute Trust areas in North Yorkshire, Northern Lincolnshire and East Yorkshire covering a geographical area of over 4500 square miles.

EY is part of YHFS and we work in partnership with Hull York Medical School (HYMS), Health Education England Yorkshire and the Humber (HEE YH), and the local NHS Trusts, to deliver a Foundation Programme which builds on undergraduate training, complies with the GMC requirements for training set out in the curriculum, and creates the best possible educational and career opportunities for progression into specialty training.

We deliver a highly regarded mandatory professional education Training Programme (formally known as Professional Development Programme and Generic Skills Programme) for both F1 and F2 in addition to a popular weekly F1 lunchtime teaching programme delivered in each trust.

Our two-year training programmes are tailored to provide each trainee with a variety of clinical placements which are guaranteed to meet the UKFPO Curricular requirements. 

Since 2014, F1 and F2 posts have been 2 year linked posts, so trainees will know their rotations for the full 2 Foundation years. Each training programme consists of 6 placements and where possible include a community and/or GP placement.

For general information regarding Yorkshire & Humber Foundation Programmes, please see our YHFS Foundation Training Website.

For details of the Specialised Foundation Programmes in EY, please click here.

Trusts within East Yorkshire (EY)

Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

  • Hull Royal Infirmary, Hull
  • Castle Hill Hospital, Cottingham

Northern Lincolnshire & Goole NHS Foundation Trust

  • Diana Princess of Wales Hospital, Grimsby
  • Scunthorpe General Hospital, Scunthorpe

York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • The York Hospital, York
  • Scarborough General Hospital, Scarborough
  • Bridlington and District Hospital, Bridlington 

Humber NHS Foundation Trust


Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust