Workforce, training and education
Yorkshire and Humber

WY Training Programme

    West Yorkshire (WY) is one of three Locality Schemes or Groups in the Yorkshire and Humber Foundation School. We oversee and support training for over 600 foundation doctors in four Acute Trust areas in Leeds, Bradford, Wakefield, Harrogate and Airedale.

    WY work in partnership with Leeds Medical School- Health Education England Yorkshire and the Humber (HEE YH), and the local NHS trusts, to deliver a Foundation Programme which builds on undergraduate training, complies with the GMC requirements for training set out in the curriculum, and creates the best possible educational and career opportunities for progression into specialty training.

    We deliver a highly regarded mandatory professional education Training Programme (formally known as Professional Development Programme and Generic Skills Programme) for both F1 and F2 in addition to a popular weekly F1 lunchtime teaching programme delivered in each trust.  

    Our two-year training programmes are tailored to provide each trainee with a variety of clinical placements which are guaranteed to meet the UKFPO Curricular requirements.   

    Since 2014, F1 and F2 posts have been 2 year linked posts, so trainees will know their placements will be for the full two Foundation years. Each training programme consists of 6 placements and where possible include a community and/or GP placement.   

    For general information regarding Yorkshire and Humber Foundation Programmes, please see our YHFS foundation training website.  

    For details of the Specialised Foundation Programmes in WY, please click here 

    Trusts within West Yorkshire (WY) 

    Airedale NHS Foundation Trust

    • Airedale General Hospital

    Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

    • Bradford Royal Infirmary
    • St Luke's Hospital, Bradford

    Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Trust

    • Calderdale Royal Hospital, Halifax
    • Huddersfield Royal Infirmary, Huddersfield

    Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

    • Harrogate District Hospital

    Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

    • Leeds General Infirmary
    • St James’ University Hospital, Leeds
    • Chapel Allerton Hospital, Leeds

    Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

    • Pinderfields Hospital
    • Dewsbury and District Hospital
    • Pontefract General Infirmary

    Bradford District Care Trust

    South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS Trust

    Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust