Workforce, training and education
Yorkshire and Humber
Changes to the MRCOG Exam

From September 2016, the MRCOG exams have changed. The changes are available here.

Exam Dates

The next MRCOG Part 1 exams will be held on 2 July 2018.

The next MRCOG Part 2 exam will be held on 3 July 2018.

Please register for these exams on the Royal College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology website.

Revision Courses

Dr Tahira Naeem organises revision courses for the MRCOG exams.

There are revision resources available on the RCOG website that can be utilised.


There is a membership exam (MRCOG) which must be passed by trainees wishing to specialise in Obstetrics and Gynaecology. This is a national exam that is undertaken by all Obstetrics and Gynaecology trainees across the country.

The MRCOG is a two part exam:

Part 1
MRCOG Part 1 is a written exam in the basic and clinical sciences relevant to Obstetrics and Gynaecology. It can be taken at any time after graduation from a medical degree. Specialty trainees must pass the Part 1 MRCOG exam before progressing from ST2 to ST3.

Part 2
MRCOG Part 2 consists of a written and an oral exam that assess the application of knowledge. This is part of the assessment and validation process for entry on to the UK Specialist Register and progress to a consultant post in Obstetrics and Gynaecology. Specialty trainees must pass the Part 2 MRCOG before progressing from ST5 to ST6.

Trainees who pass the Part 1 MRCOG exam must attempt the Part 2 MRCOG exam within 7 years. Trainees in less than full time training or who take a break from training, must attempt the Part 2 MRCOG within 10 years.

From March 2013, trainees will be permitted no more than 6 attempts at each of the Part 1 MRCOG and Part 2 MRCOG exams. This is a decision made by the GMC.

Candidates wishing to attempt either of the exams following 6 previous fails must have supporting documentation from their Head of School (or equivalent) outlining the exceptional reasons for permitting a further attempt at the exam. It is at the discretion of the GMC whether an additional attempt is permitted.

For more information, or to apply to take one of these exams, please see the RCOG website. You will also find information on exam dates, syllabus and revision courses. Please make yourself aware of the deadlines for registering for exams.