Stroke Medicine

Stroke is the most common cause of death and acquired adult neurological disability in the UK and consumes over 5% of NHS resources.  Clear standards in stroke care have been established; National Service Framework for Older People (NSF), Royal College of Physicians (with recent publication of the 4th guideline in 2012) and in Scotland, the National Clinical Guidelines and the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN).  This has been consolidated by the implementation of the Government's National Stroke Strategy, launched in 2007.  To deliver good quality stroke care, exemplary training is required to meet such standards.

Stroke Medicine is a sub-specialty training programme open to trainees holding a medical specialty national training number (NTN) in Geriatric Medicine, Neurology, Rehabilitation Medicine, Cardiology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics and Acute Medicine. Although 2 years of training is required, the first year is generally delivered within the parent specialty programme followed by an advanced training year. This advanced year is usually taken in the penultimate or final year of higher medical training and the regional programmes are outlined below. Stroke medicine sub-specialty accreditation is an additional qualification on successful prospective completion of stroke training and trainees would be eligible to have the subspecialty of Stroke Medicine in their entry on the GMC’s specialist register after the award of a CCT in their parent specialty.

It is strongly recommended that trainees who are interested in Stroke Medicine accreditation should discuss this with the Training Programme Director (TPD) for both Stroke and their parent specialty early in their training.

The primary purpose of sub-specialty training in stroke is to promote the development of physicians with the knowledge, skills and attitudes to function as an expert consultant resource within specialist stroke services. 

Within Health Education England working across Yorkshire and the Humber there are four Stroke Medicine programmes currently recognised by the JRCPTB for training.  Funding to date has come through the Stroke Association and the Department of Health.  Each provides the infrastructure to deliver high quality training in cerebrovascular medicine; (hyper) acute stroke, stroke rehabilitation, secondary prevention and also insight into service development / provision either within one centre or across sites. To accommodate experience in all aspects of stroke and advancing technologies, experience in larger centers may be necessary.

  • East Programme (Hull Royal Infirmary, Scarborough and York District General Hospitals)
  • Central Programme (incorporating Leeds General Infirmary, Chapel Allerton Hospital and St James University Hospital)
  • West Programme (incorporating Huddersfield Royal and Calderdale Hospitals, Bradford Royal Infirmary and Airedale General Hospital)
  • Sheffield Programme (Royal Hallamshire and Northern General Hospitals).

We currently run a 'fellowship model' where advanced stroke training is delivered over one year and is designed around the needs of the trainee depending upon their parent specialty, with the aim to develop physicians with the attributes to run a specialist stroke service.  After satisfactory completion of training, trainees will be accredited with the subspecialty of Stroke Medicine on the GMC specialist register following the award of their parent specialty CCT.


Dr Jon Cooper

TPD and RSA for Stroke Medicine

Vice Chair and Curriculum Lead Stroke sub-specialty SAC 
Leeds Integrated Stroke Services
Leeds General Infirmary
Great George Street 

Further Information

Further information including curriculum, assessments and downloads can be found on the JRCPTB site.