School Structure.

The School has a structure specified by Health Education England working across Yorkshire and the Humber. Dr Karin Schwarz is the overarching Head of School who has strategic responsibility. Each rotation is led by a Training Programme Director. Each hospital which trains paediatricians, will have one or more Clinical Tutors, who have been appointed by the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health. Clinical Tutors are responsible to the Directors of Medical Education, who are employed by each hospital to ensure educational delivery is high quality. There are also two RCPCH Regional Advisors across the region. 

The School Board is represented by training programme directors, RCPCH regional advisors and Health Education England, as well as personnel, directors of postgraduate medical education and doctors from the rotation. Additionally there are two educational committees which run the day release training programmes are represented at the meetings.

Each rotation has a Speciality Training Committee, which consists of training programme directors, clinical tutors and doctors from across the rotation.

The School also co-ordinates the annual review process (ARCP) for doctors and hospitals on the rotation. The Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health has a very clear assessment strategy, which the school will follow. The GMC also has a defined set of quality standards which both the School and the Trusts follow.

Should you have any concerns, you can contact your Clinical Supervisor or local Clinical Tutor. If required you can contact the Training Programme Director or refer your issue to the Programme Support Team at HEE. 

Head of School


Dr Karin Schwarz

Calderdale Royal Hospital


Deputy Postgraduate Dean


Dr David Eadington

Health Education England


Training Programme Directors - West


Dr Sue Chatfield

Remit for ST4 to ST8

Bradford Royal Infirmary


Dr Ragbir Thethy

Remit for ST1 to ST3

St James' Hospital


Training Programme Directors - East


Dr Sanjay Gupta

Rotation planning ST1-3 and simulation

Hull Royal Infirmary



Dr Liz Baker

Rotation planning ST4-8

York Hospital


Training Programme Directors - South


Dr Sanjay Suri

Remit for ARCPs

Rotherham Hospital



Dr Rum Thomas

Remit for ARCPs

Sheffield Children's Hospital


Dr Angela Oliver

Rotations ST4 to ST8



Dr Prithvi Rao

Rotations ST1 to ST3 and School website lead

Sheffield Children's Hospital


Lead Training Programme Directors



Dr Hannah Shore

Simulation Lead

Leeds Teaching Hospitals



Dr Chakrapani Vasudevan

Exam Lead

Bradford Royal Infirmary


Programme Support Team (HEE)

0114 3991902

0114 3991903




Regional Advisor

Dr Rajeeva Singh - Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust 


RCPCH Advisor for Less Than Full Time Trainees

Dr Helen Yates - Consultant Neonatologist (Hull)


Dr Simon Frazer - Bradford Royal Infirmary (via Vicky Williamson)

Vicky Williamson - Bradford Royal Infirmary

Leeds Diploma Lead

Dr Tim Lee - Leeds