School Structure.

The School has a structure specified by Health Education England working across Yorkshire and the Humber. Dr Karin Schwarz is the overarching Head of School who has strategic responsibility. Each rotation is led by a Training Programme Director. Each hospital which trains paediatricians, will have one or more Clinical Tutors, who have been appointed by the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health. Clinical Tutors are responsible to the Directors of Medical Education, who are employed by each hospital to ensure educational delivery is high quality. There are also two RCPCH Regional Advisors across the region. 

The School Board is represented by training programme directors, RCPCH regional advisors and Health Education England, as well as personnel, directors of postgraduate medical education and doctors from the rotation. Additionally there are two educational committees which run the day release training programmes are represented at the meetings.

Each rotation has a Speciality Training Committee, which consists of training programme directors, clinical tutors and doctors from across the rotation.

The School also co-ordinates the annual review process (ARCP) for doctors and hospitals on the rotation. The Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health has a very clear assessment strategy, which the school will follow. The GMC also has a defined set of quality standards which both the School and the Trusts follow.

Should you have any concerns, you can contact your Clinical Supervisor or local Clinical Tutor. If required you can contact the Training Programme Director or refer your issue to the Programme Support Team at HEE. 

Head of School

 
karin_schwarz_117x118.jpg

Dr Karin Schwarz

Calderdale Royal Hospital

Karin.Schwarz@cht.nhs.uk

 

Deputy Postgraduate Dean

 
david_eadington_118x180.jpg

Dr David Eadington

Health Education England

david.eadington@hee.nhs.uk

 

Training Programme Directors - West

 
sue_chatfield_118x119.jpg

Dr Sue Chatfield

Remit for ST4 to ST8

Bradford Royal Infirmary

Sue.Chatfield@bthft.nhs.uk

 

Dr Ragbir Thethy

Remit for ST1 to ST3

St James' Hospital

ragbir.thethy@nhs.net

 

Training Programme Directors - East

 
sanjay_gupta_120x142.jpg

Dr Sanjay Gupta

Rotation planning ST1-3 and simulation

Hull Royal Infirmary

sanjay2.gupta@hey.nhs.uk

 

liz_baker_120x125.jpg

Dr Liz Baker

Rotation planning ST4-8

York Hospital

elizabeth.baker@york.nhs.uk

 

Training Programme Directors - South

 
sanjay_suri_122x121.jpg

Dr Sanjay Suri

Remit for ARCPs

Rotherham Hospital

sanjay.suri@rothgen.nhs.uk

 

 

Dr Rum Thomas

Remit for ARCPs

Sheffield Children's Hospital

rum.thomas@sch.nhs.uk

 

Dr Angela Oliver

Rotations ST4 to ST8

Angela.oliver2@nhs.net

 

prithvi_rao_151x101.jpg

Dr Prithvi Rao

Rotations ST1 to ST3 and School website lead

Sheffield Children's Hospital

Prithviraj.Rao@sch.nhs.uk

 

Lead Training Programme Directors

 

hannah_shore_126x101.jpg

Dr Hannah Shore

Simulation Lead

Leeds Teaching Hospitals

hannahshore@nhs.net

 

chakra_vasudevan_128x137.jpg

Dr Chakrapani Vasudevan

Exam Lead

Bradford Royal Infirmary

Chakrapani.Vasudevan@bthft.nhs.uk

 

Programme Support Team (HEE)

 

 

 

paediatricsupport.yh@hee.nhs.uk

0114 3991902

0114 3991903

 

   

 

Regional Advisor

Dr Rajeeva Singh - Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust 

 

RCPCH Advisor for Less Than Full Time Trainees

Dr Helen Yates - Consultant Neonatologist (Hull)

STEPP

Dr Simon Frazer - Bradford Royal Infirmary (via Vicky Williamson)

Vicky Williamson - Bradford Royal Infirmary

Leeds Diploma Lead

Dr Tim Lee - Leeds

X