.

Paediatrics Contacts & Links

Programme Support Team

The School is supported by a team of administrators based at Don Valley House, Sheffield.

First point of contact

paediatricsupport.yh@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Team

dani_129x129.jpg

Danielle Peplow 

Programme Support Officer

0114 3991902

sara_bower_new_130x230.jpg

Sara Bower

Programme Support Administrator

0114 3991903

Training Programme Directors

Dr Liz Baker

elizabeth.baker@york.nhs.uk

 

Dr Sue Chatfield

sue.chatfield@bthft.nhs.uk

 

Dr Sanjay Gupta

sanjay2.gupta@hey.nhs.uk

 

Dr Angela Oliver

Angela.oliver2@nhs.net

 

Dr Prithvi Rao

prithviraj.rao@sch.nhs.uk

 

Dr Hannah Shore

hannahshore@nhs.net

 

Dr Sanjay Suri

sanjay.suri@rothgen.nhs.uk

 

Dr Venkat Thiyagesh

venkat.thiyagesh@cht.nhs.uk 

 

Dr Chakrapani Vasudevan

Chakrapani.Vasudevan@bthft.nhs.uk

 

Dr Jessica Oldfield

jessicaoldfield@nhs.net

College Tutors

Airedale NHS Trust

Airedale General Hospital

Dr Annaliese Mawdsley

ammawdsley@doctors.org.uk

Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Barnsley Hospital

Dr Rajeev Gupta

rajeev.gupta@nhs.net

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Bradford Royal Infirmary

Dr Sally Pollard

sally.pollard@bthft.nhs.uk

Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

Calderdale Royal Hospital

Dr Pamela Ohadike

Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Bassetlaw District General Hospital

Dr Lovlin Joseph

lovlin.joseph@dbh.nhs.uk

Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Dr Nigel Brooke

nigel.brooke@dbh.nhs.uk

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Harrogate District Hospital

Dr Shimona Basu

shimona.basu@hdft.nhs.uk

Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Hull Royal Infirmary

Dr Vishal Mehta

vishal.mehta@hey.nhs.uk

Leeds Community Healthcare Trust

Dr Arnab Seal

arnab.seal@nhs.net

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dr Sean O'Riordan

seanoriordan@nhs.net

Dr Talat Mushtaq

talat.mushtaq@nhs.net

Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dewsbury District Hospital

Dr Vijay Sharma

vijay.sharma@midyorks.nhs.uk

Pinderfields General Hospital

Dr Matthew Pye

matthew.pye@midyorks.nhs.uk

Pinderfields General Hospital

Dr Kathryn Deakin

kdeakin@doctors.org.uk

Northern Lincolnshire & Goole Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Diana Princess of Wales Hospital

Dr Vijaya Hebbar

vijaya.hebbar@nhs.net

Scunthorpe General Hospital

Dr Satish Shekhar

satish.shekhar@nhs.net

Scarborough and North East Yorkshire Health Care NHS Trust

Scarborough General Hospital

Dr Sheik Shekhar

Sheik.razak@york.nhs.uk

Sheffield Children's NHS Foundation Trust

Sheffield Children's Hospital

Dr Laura Flemons

laura.flemons@sch.nhs.uk

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Jessop Wing

Dr Helen Dyson

helen.dyson@sth.nhs.uk

Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Rotherham District General Hospital

Dr Imran Bashir

Imran.Bashir@rothgen.nhs.uk

 

York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

York Hospital

Dr Sarah Snowden

sarah.snowden@york.nhs.uk

Senior Team

Head of School of Paediatrics

Dr Karin Schwarz

karin.schwarz@cht.nhs.uk

 

Deputy Postgraduate Dean

Dr David Eadington

david.eadington@hee.nhs.uk

 

Business Manager

Lisa Austin

lisa.austin@hee.nhs.uk 

Trainee Representatives

Paediatric Trainee Representatives

 

Trainee representation is a key element in the development and monitoring of the Paediatric Training Programme, and representatives play a valuable role in providing feedback and helping shape new initiatives.

In order to build continuity, the Paediatric School Trainee Representative will hold the role for the ST Levels they have applied to complete (i.e, ST1 - ST3).  They may of course, choose to step down from their role at any point if they wish.  If a trainee does give up their role, the Paediatric School will follow the application process to appoint a new trainee to the role. 

Please note that the posts are unpaid, honorary roles.  HEE YH is however, able to reimburse travel expenses for those Paediatric School Trainee Representatives who are required to travel to local and national meetings.  Details on how to claim reimbursement will be sent on appointment.

If you wish to contact your local Trainee Rep you will find their details below:

 

South Yorkshire

ST1 - ST3

Helen Newsome

helen_newsome_91x121.jpg

Hi, I'm Helen and I am an ST3 in South Yorkshire. I moved to Sheffield to pursue my interest in paediatric emergency medicine after a year as an expedition doctor and undertaking the Diploma in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. I started my training in the East of England and undertook my F2 in Wellington, New Zealand. It can be daunting moving to new places and I am keen to support others moving into the region.

As a proudly 'out' gay person with dyslexia, I am passionate about diversity at work. My dyslexia has meant that I have found some of the MRCPCH exams harder than most and I am very happy to share my experiences and advise others where I can. 

Email Helen Newsome

 

ST4 - ST5

Anjum Grewal

anjum_grewal_107x71.jpg

 

Hi, I am Anjum. I am your level 2 school representative. I believe in team work and collaboration. Being the co-chair for South Yorkshire trainee forum I am already actively involved in helping improve training locally. I am here to listen to you and raise your concerns.

 I have worked across various cultures and health systems. I have trained in paediatrics in India, then worked as a registrar in Northern Ireland prior to joining run through training in South Yorkshire in 2015.

I have worked part time in the past and am currently full time. I fully understand the pressures of being a parent, a junior doctor and a diploma student all at once.

 Please feel free to contact me if I can help you in any way.

Email Anjum Grewal

 

ST6 - ST8  

Kate Renton

kate_renton_100x117.jpg

“I’m Kate, and I am undertaking GRID training in Paediatric Palliative Medicine. This is based across South Yorkshire and West Yorkshire.

I have trained in South Yorkshire for almost all my training and have rotated through all the District General Hospitals in the region. As such, I believe I have a good understanding of the challenges trainees face.

I currently work full-time but have a family so I can appreciate the challenges of juggling both in an aim to achieve good work-life balance. I’m keen to be a voice for trainees in the region to try and make a difference and improve training opportunities for all.

Please get in touch if there is anything I might be able to help you with.”

Email Kate Renton

 

East Yorkshire

ST1 - ST3

Tom Main

tom_main_73x129.jpg

Hello, my name is Tom. I am an ST2 trainee in East. I have worked in Hull, Harrogate, Scunthorpe and Sheffield Children's. 

I've previously worked overseas and am planning to an OOPE in 2018.

 Please get in touch with any issues. I have set up a level 1 trainee WhatsApp group that I can add you to. I am particularly keen to bang the drum for the relatively small and widespread east Yorkshire trainee crew!

Email Tom Main

ST4 - ST5

David Finn

david_finn_72x96.jpg

Hi, my name’s David Finn and I’m an ST5 trainee based in the East. I’ve worked in most hospitals in the East and also in Leeds. I am starting PICU Grid training in Leeds in August.

As trainee representative I hope I can raise any concerns you may have about training in the region and am happy to talk honestly to senior staff within the school when others may feel timid about doing so. I am happy to talk to people on your behalf, but also to help you to address these issues yourselves. One thing I feel very strongly about is ensuring trainees throughout the deanery have equal opportunities to help them achieve their career aspirations as I have had.

We are all here to help make training in the region as best as it can be so please do not hesitate to e-mail me if you have any great ideas!

Email David Finn

 

ST6 - ST8

Michael Hayes

 

West Yorkshire

ST1 - ST3

Aoife Hurley

aiofe_82x109.jpg

"Hello I'm Aoife, currently an ST2 trainee based in West Yorkshire and level 1 representative. 

It's a difficult time to be a doctor, especially a paediatric trainee and I'm keen to work with people to find out what we can do to improve training. Whilst its part of the role, we aren't just for service provision which is often a difficult balancing act and something that can always be improved. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with any thoughts, ideas or suggestions!"

Email Aoife Hurley

 

ST6 - ST8

Shanawaz Hussain

shanawaz_hussain_81x132.jpg

Hi, I’m Shanawaz.  I am currently a grid trainee in paediatric neurology in Leeds.  

I started my training in South and I am now working in West Yorkshire.  I believe I have a good understanding of the challenges that trainees face across the region.  

As I have young family, I am acutely aware of the particular the challenges of balancing work and family commitments.  

As the trainee representative I am happy to be contacted about any issue you wish to discuss and hope I can represent your views and concerns with the school.

Email Shanawaz Hussain

 

 

Regional Advisors
Medical Staffing Departments

Airedale NHS Trust

Jack Lewis

01535 294420

jack.lewis@anhst.nhs.uk

 

Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Lindsay Storey

01226 730000 

l.storey@nhs.net

 

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Alyson Coatesworth

01274 365438

alyson.coatesworth@bthft.nhs.uk 

 

Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

Jackie Goodwin

01484 355028

jackie.goodwin@cht.nhs.uk

 

Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Sue Michael

01302 553 255

sue.michael@dbh.nhs.uk

 

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Andrea Richardson

01423 553791

andrea.richardson@hdft.nhs.uk

 

Hull & East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Joey Robson

01482 674067

joseph.robson@hey.nhs.uk

 

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Jenn Scrivener

0113 206 4063

jenn.scrivener@leedsth.nhs.uk

 

Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Becky Turner

01924 543643

rebecca.turner@midyorks.nhs.uk

 

North Lincolnshire & Goole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Laura Anderson

01472 874111 ext 7164

laura.anderson6@nhs.net

 

Sheffield Children's Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Lead employer for all Paediatrics trainees working in South Yorkshire

0114 2717207

MedicalHR@sch.nhs.uk

 

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Melanie Blanchard

0114  2711791

melanie.blanchard@sth.nhs.uk

 

York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Georgina Michulitis

01723 342580

georgina.michulitis@york.nhs.uk

Rota Coordinators

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Harrogate District Hospital

Rota Co-ordinator - Emma Oxtoby

Emma.Oxtoby@hdft.nhs.uk

 

York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Scarborough Hospital

Rota Co-ordinator - Kath.Smith@york.nhs.uk

 

Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

General Paediatrics - Vikas Gupta (ST1 - ST8)

Neonatal Unit

ST1 - ST3 - Kathryn Green

 Kathryn.Green@hey.nhs.uk

ST4 + - Joanna Preece

Joanna.Preece@hey.nhs.uk    

 

North Lincolnshire & Goole NHS Foundation Trust

Scunthorpe Genereral Hospital

Amy Tuplin - Rota Coordinator

Email: Amy.tuplin@nhs.net  Tel: 03033 305903 / 03033 306999

 

 

The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Pinderfields Hospital

Louise Stainburn - Temporary Medical Staffing Rota Co-ordinator

Louise.Stainburn@midyorks.nhs.uk

 

 

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

General Paediatrics

Sally Pollard - Sally.Pollard@bthft.nhs.uk

Neonatal Unit

Sam Oddie - Sam.Oddie@bthft.nhs.uk

CDC/Community Registrar (Daytime Issues)

Stella Yeung - Stella.Yeung@bthft.nhs.uk

 

Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

Ellis Moss - ST1 - ST8

 

Airedale NHS Foundation Trust

Rota Co-ordinator - Paula Beadle

Paula.beadle@anhst.nhs.uk

 

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Neonatal Service

ST4+ - Kathryn Johnson

kathrynjohnson1@nhs.net

ST1 - ST3 - Lawrence Miall

l.miall@nhs.net

Deployment Team  

leedsth-tr.LGIDeployment@nhs.net

 

Sheffield Childrens Hospital

ST1 - ST3 Lucy Hinds

ST4 - ST8  Astha Soni

PICU Lara Jackman

Surgery:

Dr Michelle Horridge

Dr Rohini Sahay

Mr Murthi

Georgina Hanson (HR)

Embrace Dr Fatemah Rajah

 

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Jessops Hospital

Dr Porus Bustani

 

Doncaster & Bassetlaw NHS Foundation Trust

Doncaster Royal Infirmary

SHO Rota Co-ordinator - Nigel.Brooke@dbh.nhs.uk

Middle Grade Rota Co-ordinator - Nagendra.Rao@dbh.nhs.uk

Bassetlaw Hospital

SHO Rota Co-ordinator - lovlin.joseph@dbh.nhs.uk

Overall Rota Co-ordinator - Susan.Tutar@dbh.nhs.uk

 

Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Rotherham District General Hospital

Maria Scott (Medical Staffing)

Dr Eisawl Nagmeldin

Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Barnsley Hospital

Stacey Elsworth (Medical Staffing)

X