.

Paediatrics Contacts & Links

Programme Support Team

The School is supported by a team of administrators based at Don Valley House, Sheffield.

First point of contact

paediatricsupport.yh@hee.nhs.uk

Training Programme Directors
Location Role  Name  Email 
South ARCP Lead Sanjay Suri Sanjay.Suri@rothgen.nhs.uk
East ST4-8 rotations Elizabeth Baker elizabeth.baker@york.nhs.uk
Pan Deanery Education Lead; STEPP Vacant  
Pan Deanery Exam Lead Chakrapani Vasudevan Chakrapani.Vasudevan@bthft.nhs.uk
Pan Deanery Head of School Karin Schwarz Karin.Schwarz@cht.nhs.uk
Pan Deanery Simulation Lead Sunitha Sampath drsunithasampath@gmail.com
South South ARCP Lead; SPRAT Rum Thomas Rum.thomas@sch.nhs.uk
South ST1-3 rotations, Website Prithvi Rao prithviraj.rao@sch.nhs.uk
South ST4-8 rotations Angela Oliver angela.oliver2@nhs.net
South South; Diploma support Jessica Oldfield  jessicaoldfield@nhs.net
East ST1-3 Rotations Sanjay Gupta sanjay2.gupta@hey.nhs.uk
West ST1-3 Rotations Venkat Thiyagesh Venkat.thiyagesh@cht.nhs.uk
West ST4- ST8 West Rotations Kay Tyerman  kay.tyerman@nhs.net
West West ARCP Lead Vacant  
College Tutors

Airedale NHS Trust

Airedale General Hospital

Dr Annaliese Mawdsley

ammawdsley@doctors.org.uk

Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Barnsley Hospital

Dr Rajeev Gupta

rajeev.gupta@nhs.net

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Bradford Royal Infirmary

Dr Sally Pollard

sally.pollard@bthft.nhs.uk

Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

Calderdale Royal Hospital

Dr Pamela Ohadike

Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Bassetlaw District General Hospital

Dr Lovlin Joseph

lovlin.joseph@dbh.nhs.uk

Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Dr Nigel Brooke

nigel.brooke@dbh.nhs.uk

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Harrogate District Hospital

Dr Shimona Basu

shimona.basu@hdft.nhs.uk

Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Hull Royal Infirmary

Dr Vishal Mehta

vishal.mehta@hey.nhs.uk

Leeds Community Healthcare Trust

Dr Arnab Seal

arnab.seal@nhs.net

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dr Sean O'Riordan

seanoriordan@nhs.net

Dr Talat Mushtaq

talat.mushtaq@nhs.net

Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Dewsbury District Hospital

Dr Vijay Sharma

vijay.sharma@midyorks.nhs.uk

Pinderfields General Hospital

Dr Matthew Pye

matthew.pye@midyorks.nhs.uk

Pinderfields General Hospital

Dr Kathryn Deakin

kdeakin@doctors.org.uk

Northern Lincolnshire & Goole Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Diana Princess of Wales Hospital

Dr Vijaya Hebbar

vijaya.hebbar@nhs.net

Scunthorpe General Hospital

Dr Satish Shekhar

satish.shekhar@nhs.net

Scarborough and North East Yorkshire Health Care NHS Trust

Scarborough General Hospital

Dr Sheik Shekhar

Sheik.razak@york.nhs.uk

Sheffield Children's NHS Foundation Trust

Sheffield Children's Hospital

Dr Laura Flemons

laura.flemons@sch.nhs.uk

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Jessop Wing

Dr Helen Dyson

helen.dyson@sth.nhs.uk

Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Rotherham District General Hospital

Dr Imran Bashir

Imran.Bashir@rothgen.nhs.uk

 

York Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

York Hospital

Dr Sarah Snowden

sarah.snowden@york.nhs.uk

Senior Team

Head of School of Paediatrics

Dr Karin Schwarz

karin.schwarz@cht.nhs.uk

 

Deputy Postgraduate Dean

Dr David Eadington

david.eadington@hee.nhs.uk

 

Business Manager

Lisa Austin

lisa.austin@hee.nhs.uk 

Trainee Representatives

Paediatric Trainee Representatives

 

Trainee representation is a key element in the development and monitoring of the Paediatric Training Programme, and representatives play a valuable role in providing feedback and helping shape new initiatives.

In order to build continuity, the Paediatric School Trainee Representative will hold the role for the ST Levels they have applied to complete (i.e, ST1 - ST3).  They may of course, choose to step down from their role at any point if they wish.  If a trainee does give up their role, the Paediatric School will follow the application process to appoint a new trainee to the role. 

Please note that the posts are unpaid, honorary roles.  HEE YH is however, able to reimburse travel expenses for those Paediatric School Trainee Representatives who are required to travel to local and national meetings.  Details on how to claim reimbursement will be sent on appointment.

If you wish to contact your local Trainee Rep you will find their details below:

 

South Yorkshire

ST1 - ST3

Eman Azab

 

My name is  Eman Hassanin. I'm a ST2 Paediatric trainee at South Yorkshire. I started my career in Alexandria, Egypt, where I completed my bachelor degree and an internship. I worked in a Neonatal ICU for a brief period before arriving in the UK. Prior to starting my paediatric training in South Yorkshire in 2016, I also worked in a paediatric department over at Merseyside. 

Despite being in an early stage of my career, I have been working in several departments and seen how the same objectives can be achieved very differently. I believe that it is important to discuss ideas and suggestions for increasing the efficacy at our workplace which allows staff to spend more of their time where it matters the most. I look forward to represent the SHOs of our deanery. Do no hesitate to contact me with suggestions or other relevant matters.

Email Eman Azab

ST4 - ST5

Helen Newsome

Hi, I'm Helen and I am an ST4 in South Yorkshire. I moved to Sheffield to pursue my interest in paediatric emergency medicine after a year as an expedition doctor and undertaking the Diplomhelen_newsome_91x121.jpga in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. I started my training in the East of England and undertook my F2 in Wellington, New Zealand. It can be daunting moving to new places and I am keen to support others moving into the region.

As a proudly 'out' gay person with dyslexia, I am passionate about diversity at work. My dyslexia has meant that I have found some of the MRCPCH exams harder than most and I am very happy to share my experiences and advise others where I can. 

Email Helen Newsome

ST6-ST8

Kate Renton

kate_renton_100x117.jpg

“I’m Kate, and I am undertaking GRID training in Paediatric Palliative Medicine. This is based across South Yorkshire and West Yorkshire.

I have trained in South Yorkshire for almost all my training and have rotated through all the District General Hospitals in the region. As such, I believe I have a good understanding of the challenges trainees face.

I currently work full-time but have a family so I can appreciate the challenges of juggling both in an aim to achieve good work-life balance. I’m keen to be a voice for trainees in the region to try and make a difference and improve training opportunities for all.

Please get in touch if there is anything I might be able to help you with.”

Email Kate Renton

 

East Yorkshire

ST1 - ST3

Maddy Hover

 

Email Maddy Hover

ST4 - ST5

Lisa Tharby

Email Lisa Tharby

 

ST6 - ST8

James Houston

Email James Houston

 

West Yorkshire

ST1 - ST3

Aoife Hurley

aiofe_82x109.jpg

"Hello I'm Aoife, currently an ST2 trainee based in West Yorkshire and level 1 representative. 

It's a difficult time to be a doctor, especially a paediatric trainee and I'm keen to work with people to find out what we can do to improve training. Whilst its part of the role, we aren't just for service provision which is often a difficult balancing act and something that can always be improved. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with any thoughts, ideas or suggestions!"

Email Aoife Hurley

ST4-ST5

Monica Negoita

Hi everyone, 

I'm Monica and I'm a Paediatric ST5 trainee in West Yorkshire. 

I know we all have busy lives and we're always trying to catch up work, career aspirations, family life, sleep and/or extracurricular interests. But within that, I'd appreciate your help and all your ideas on how to make training and working in Yorkshire better, safer and happier for everyone. 

Please email me any thoughts or questions and I'll present them to the Deanery as best as I can. You can use: dr.negoita.monica@gmail.com or monica.negoita@nhs.net

Or just talk to me at work or MedSci or any venue you can find me. I will not know all the answers, but I'll try and find them for you. 

Best wishes, 

Monica

Email Monica Negoita 

ST6 - ST8

Bilal Manzoor

I am a level 3 trainee working in West Yorkshire. I have worked in district as well as teaching hospitals across Yorkshire and Humber region, during this journey I spoke to many of my fellow junior doctors and realised the need for a change in the way how we communicate with the deanery. I have put myself forward as a trainee representative to bring about this change.

I hope to be able to represent the views of my fellow trainees and help to improve the paediatric trainee experience in Yorkshire.

Email Bilal Manzoor

Regional Advisors
Medical Staffing Departments

Airedale NHS Trust

Jack Lewis

01535 294420

jack.lewis@anhst.nhs.uk

 

Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Lindsay Storey

01226 730000 

l.storey@nhs.net

 

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Alyson Coatesworth

01274 365438

alyson.coatesworth@bthft.nhs.uk 

 

Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

Jackie Goodwin

01484 355028

jackie.goodwin@cht.nhs.uk

 

Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Sue Michael

01302 553 255

sue.michael@dbh.nhs.uk

 

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Andrea Richardson

01423 553791

andrea.richardson@hdft.nhs.uk

 

Hull & East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Joey Robson

01482 674067

joseph.robson@hey.nhs.uk

 

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Jenn Scrivener

0113 206 4063

jenn.scrivener@leedsth.nhs.uk

 

Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Becky Turner

01924 543643

rebecca.turner@midyorks.nhs.uk

 

North Lincolnshire & Goole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Laura Anderson

01472 874111 ext 7164

laura.anderson6@nhs.net

 

Sheffield Children's Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Lead employer for all Paediatrics trainees working in South Yorkshire

0114 2717207

MedicalHR@sch.nhs.uk

 

 

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Melanie Blanchard

0114  2711791

melanie.blanchard@sth.nhs.uk

 

 

York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Georgina Michulitis

01723 342580

georgina.michulitis@york.nhs.uk

Rota Coordinators

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

Harrogate District Hospital

Rota Co-ordinator - Emma Oxtoby - Emma.Oxtoby@hdft.nhs.uk

 

York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Scarborough Hospital

Rota Co-ordinator - Kath.Smith@york.nhs.uk

 

Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

General Paediatrics - Vikas Gupta (ST1 - ST8) - Vikas.Gupta@hey.nhs.uk

Neonatal Unit

ST1 - ST3 - Kathryn Green -  Kathryn.Green@hey.nhs.uk

ST4 + - Joanna Preece - Joanna.Preece@hey.nhs.uk    

 

North Lincolnshire & Goole NHS Foundation Trust

Scunthorpe Genereral Hospital

Amy Tuplin - Rota Coordinator

Email: Amy.tuplin@nhs.net  Tel: 03033 305903 / 03033 306999

 

The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Pinderfields Hospital

Louise Stainburn - Temporary Medical Staffing Rota Co-ordinator - Louise.Stainburn@midyorks.nhs.uk

 

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

General Paediatrics

Sally Pollard - Sally.Pollard@bthft.nhs.uk

Neonatal Unit

Sam Oddie - Sam.Oddie@bthft.nhs.uk

CDC/Community Registrar (Daytime Issues)

Stella Yeung - Stella.Yeung@bthft.nhs.uk

 

Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

ST1 - ST8 - Ellis Moss - ellis.moss@cht.nhs.uk

 

Airedale NHS Foundation Trust

Rota Co-ordinator - Paula Beadle - Paula.beadle@anhst.nhs.uk

 

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Neonatal Service

ST4+ - Kathryn Johnson - kathrynjohnson1@nhs.net

ST1 - ST3 - Lawrence Miall - l.miall@nhs.net

Deployment Team - leedsth-tr.LGIDeployment@nhs.net

 

Sheffield Childrens Hospital

General Paediatrics

ST1 - ST3 - Lucy Hinds - lucy.hinds@sch.nhs.uk

ST4 - ST8 - Astha Soni - asthma.soni@sch.nhs.uk

PICU

Lara Jackman - lara.jackman1@nhs.net

Surgery

Michelle Horridge - Michelle.Horridge@sch.nhs.uk 

Elizabeth Gavens - e.gavens@nhs.net

Embrace

Dr Fatemah Rajah - Fatemah.rajah@sch.nhs.uk

 

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Jessops Hospital

Dr Porus Bustani - Porus.bustani@sth.nhs.uk

 

Doncaster & Bassetlaw NHS Foundation Trust

Doncaster Royal Infirmary

ST1 - ST3 Rota Co-ordinator - Nigel.Brooke@dbh.nhs.uk

ST4 - ST8 Rota Co-ordinator - Nagendra.Rao@dbh.nhs.uk

Bassetlaw Hospital

ST1 - ST3 Co-ordinator - lovlin.joseph@dbh.nhs.uk

Overall Rota Co-ordinator - Susan.Tutar@dbh.nhs.uk

 

Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Rotherham District General Hospital

Dr Eisawl Nagmeldin - eisawl.nagmeldin@nhs.net

 

Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Barnsley Hospital

Stacey Elsworth - Stacey.elsworth@nhs.net (Medical Staffing)

X