Palliative Medicine ST3 - Round 3

Palliative Medicine in Yorkshire and the Humber 

In order to assess your suitability for this training programme please refer to the national Person Specifications on the Specialty Training website.

The expected duration of this training programme is 5 years subject to satisfactory progression. The actual duration may depend on the circumstances of individual trainees.

Trainees in this specialty are expected to train in General Internal Medicine which will result in them having dual accreditation at the end of their training.


Physician recruitment in 2022

Please read the below news article published by the Royal College of Physicians to see how the change in the IMT (formally CMT) curriculum affects your current training and future applications to specialty recruitment posts.

A full guidance document entitled “Physician Recruitment – Indicative Guidance Regarding...” is also available from


Further sources of information

The Recruitment Process

The National Recruitment Office for Palliative Medicine is the Royal College of Physicians.

For information about the recruitment process, including timelines and information about how to apply, please visit the ST3 recruitment website.


Vacancy information for this specialty is provided on the ST3 Recruitment website.

Indicative vacancies for R3

2 x South Yorkshire

1 x North East/West Yorkshire

Start Dates

The exact start dates of all posts will be available to candidates during the preferencing process.

Programme Information

Rotation Details

Expected rotation arrangements for this training programme are:

North, East and West Yorkshire

Bradford Royal Hospital

Leeds General Hospital

St James’ Hospital, Leeds

Pinderfields Hospital, Wakefield

St Leonard’s Hospice

St Gemma’s Hospice

St Catherine’s Hospice

Manorlands Sue Ryder Hospice  

Marie Curie Cancer Care

Sue Ryder (Wheatfields)



Northern General Hospital, Sheffield

Weston Park Hospital, Sheffield

St Luke’s Hospice

St John’s Hospice

Training Locations

A list of the trusts and training locations within the training programme is provided below:



Hospital Sites

Airedale NHS Foundation Trust Airedale General Hospital
Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Barnsley Hospital
Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust  Bradford Royal Infirmary
St Luke’s Hospital
Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust  Calderdale Royal Hospital
Huddersfield Royal Infirmary
Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust Chesterfield Royal Hospital
Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust   Bassetlaw Hospital
Doncaster Royal Infirmary
Montagu Hospital
Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust Harrogate District Hospital
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust  Castle Hill Hospital
Hull Royal Infirmary
Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Chapel Allerton Hospital
Leeds Dental Institute
Leeds General Infirmary
Seacroft Hospital
St James’ University Hospital
Wharfedale Hospital
Mid Yorkshire NHS Foundation Trust Dewsbury and District Hospital
Pinderfields Hospital
Pontefract Hospital
Northern Lincolnshire and Goole Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust   Diana, Princess of Wales Hospital
Goole and District Hospital
Scunthorpe General Hospital
The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust Rotherham Hospital
Sheffield Children's NHS Foundation Trust The Sheffield Children’s Hospital
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Charles Clifford Dental Hospital
Jessop Wing
Northern General Hospital
Royal Hallamshire Hospital
Weston Park Hospital
York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Scarborough Hospital
The York Hospital